Pay Day is such a tease
9:52 p.m. x October 27, 2006

I got halloween costumes tonight for the kids and I. The girls are going to be witches. Kimberley's is called a spider witch. It's a witch costume but the trim is pink with black webs printed on it. Brittany's is almost like a Ren-witch and it is black and purple. I wish they made them in adult sizes. Hers is gorgeous, as far as Kmart halloween costumes go. Anyway, Ronald will be a skeleton, and I will be......
drumroll please....
.
.
.
.
.
.
A flapper girl.
Okay, so it isn't all that original and everyone's been a flapper but it was what I have had in mind for a couple of weeks now. It's purple and long enough to wear to work. I'll have to wear a sweater but that's okay. I'm used to ruining costumes with outerwear. I've been doing it for 27 years. That's what living in the midwest gets ya.
I'll probably wear it on Wednesday night too, so I can show it off, but I will bring a change of clothes since it is unusually cold out this year and there's no plan of that changing any time soon. Ugh.
I couldn't find classic flapper shoes but I found some black loafers with a slight chunky heel and they'll work. Since there was a sale going, I got a pair of half boots while I was at it.
After Kmart, we went to Bino's and Bino gave me a glass of imported wine from Sicily. It was sweet of him to do that but the wine... not so sweet. It was more watered down than anything. At least I can say I've had real Sicilian wine though. I couldn't say that before. Kimberley informed me that wine makes you drunk, and seemed concerned, but it was more water than wine and it was only about 3 ounces at the most so I wasn't exactly slurring and stumbling.
Wednesday, Ronald and another boy at school got in trouble because they stood in front of the class, unzipped their pants, stuck a finger out the hole, wiggled said fingers, and thrusted their hips at the girls. It's the funniest referral I've ever seen, but I didn't tell him that. As a punishment, the school gave him two days' lunch detention (because I asked the principal not to reward him with a suspension), and I had his dad stand him in the corner til I got home from work so I could deal with him (as Jaci says, I'm infamous for that one), and then made him write 21 apology letters to his classmates and one to the teacher.
The one to the students read:
I am very sorry for the way I acted on Wednesday. It was not cool or funny. If I offended you or my actions caused you to misbehave, I apologize. It was wrong and not something I should be doing in school or anywhere, and I will not do it again.
The teacher's read:
I am sorry I disrupted your class on Wednesday. It was wrong and it will not happen again. If I caused anyone else to misbehave or made your job harder in any way, I am sorry for that too. My mom and dad do not allow me to act like that so I do not know why I decided to misbehave that way at school. Please know that I am a good child at heart and acting in such a way is not a part of who I am.
He is currently working on writing an essay on Frostbite (just in case he gets the urge to stick the real thing out).
It's okay to laugh about it. He can't see you.
On a sadder note, a lady at work named Pat lost her boyfriend of 28+ years yesterday to cancer. She refers to him as her husband and they've lived together for a very, very long time. It was bone cancer that spread to his brain, causing a lot of pain and personality changes. He isn't suffering anymore so that's a good thing, but she has a long way to go with grieving. Pat doesn't drive so a friend was coming to pick her up and called work but didn't give her any details, so she didn't know if Mickey was still alive at that point or not, and the numbnuts at work left her to stand outside alone and wait. Had I been there and known, I would have stood out there myself to wait. I hadn't started yet though. If there's anything to be thankful for, he was still alive at that point and she got to the hospital in time to say goodbye. I don't know any details beyond that, but I plan to look in the online paper when I get done here.
Since we're on the topic of death, a sweet old man at work died a few weeks ago of a heart attack and I wrote into our online suggestion box that he didn't have any family other than his work family, and that I know a memorial service would be unrealistic, but we should do something, even if it's just selling nachos or some such thing and raising money to be donated to a charity in his name. It worked, and on Monday, we are raising money for the American Heart Association. I don't know if I agree with what we're having (hamburgers, brats, and hot dogs) because it's like saying "Here, have some of what killed Steve and we'll donate the money to the charity that researches heart disease, so that maybe by the time you have your heart attack, they'll have more treatments." but whatever. I am glad they took my suggestion and are doing something. He was a sweet, jolly man, and his recent life story is sad so I am glad someone is doing something for him at work, since his family won't.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host