Work stuff
8:40 p.m. x March 13, 2006

I swear they sent out an offer to The National Association For The Braindead recently. I normally don't mind people calling and asking questions that seem to have an obvious answer because I realize that they don't work with credit related matters day in and day out like I do, but the stuff people have been coming up with lately just boggles my mind. I had some old bitch yelling at me because we couldn't wade through the warehouse where the mail offers are located and pick her name out. She made it a point to tell me that she's already having mini-strokes and she just didn't need this stress. Well, the way I look at it, that was a worthless attempt at a guilt trip. For one thing, I didn't personally write her name on the label to mail it off. For another, she obviously stresses out over dumb shit if she is having mini-strokes over junk mail. She said something about elderly people at church getting them and they need to make a law to prevent that and how they should get together and sue the hell out of me. Boy how I love a swearing, church-going hypocrite right before lunch. If I were anywhere but work, I would have ripped her a new ass. Obviously I can't do that at work so I waited til the line was clear and said "Sue me all ya want, bitch." Nobody heard me but it made me feel better. I had a guy that didn't want to give me any of his info. Not his physical address, not his previous address, not his social security number, nothing. I can understand the social security number and I wish we didn't have to ask, but we do. However, the physical address is so we know where to find the person if they buy 1000 pounds of fertilizer and a detonator or something, and the previous address is required on any credit application anywhere if you've moved in the past 2 years. If you move a lot, you're not stable, and it lessens your chance of obtaining credit. It's not a complicated thing to figure out. It was like pulling teeth to get anything out of him and when I got to his social security number, he hesitated, then said "I know you're legit because I have an account with you already but how do I know it's safe." I said "I've been a victim of identity theft. I understand why you don't want to give it, but I have to ask, and we only use it to check your credit." Finally he gave in so when it came time to transfer him to credit, I waited on the line to give the woman his social myself. I wouldn't wish that on anyone. She very happily thanked me when I gave it to her and told her why I was.
I had someone that truly was not mentally competent enough to handle a credit card that was a transfer call from one of the banks we deal with. I would think her local banker would want to watch out for her and not have her get in over her head with a credit card, rather than push for the transfer so she could get the $1 incentive on her check. People are fucked up. I can't tell her I won't do it because that's discrimination but I knew she had been talked into something she wouldn't have otherwise thought to do and I felt awfully. Thankfully, for her sake, she got declined. The poor girl didn't even understand the difference between before taxes and after taxes on a paycheck. How is she going to maintain a credit card? And she's about the third one in the last week that I, myself, have gotten that wasn't mentally competent to handle such a thing, and all of them came from that bank. I could go on and on with the stupid questions I've had to put up with, today alone, but I won't. I just want to know where the hell these idiots are coming from all of a sudden. I want the company to succeed so I have a job, but a few less dumbasses would be nice.
We did get free food today though. It was employee appreciation day so we got mostaccoli, italian salad, and bread for our efforts. It was really good too. It's funny, they want us to pay for the burnt brats in the summer and the stinky nachos the rest of the year but they give us the good stuff for free. Not that I mind. I might have actually paid for that meal. They can keep their rancid nachos though.
My thought is that what they were really doing was making up for the fact that the other 364 days a year, they don't pay us enough so that we can afford food, so they feed us once a year for free and they get rid of their guilt. And of course they get some free food too, since all those burnt brats and rancid nachos raised the money for the "free" meal.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host