birthday party
7:59 p.m. x 2003-11-16

Before I type this, I want it to be made clear that now that I don't nurse, my children have no association with my breasts. (As you can tell, I'm about nursed out... and yes, I needed to shave but leaving the hair there made it that much more fun to make the layout, even if I am embarrassed.)

Anyway, Kimberley had a nice birthday party today. There were just a few people but everyone I invited showed up.. plus I'm kinda diggin' this Ohio deal. No in-laws/ex-in-laws to wither invite and wish I hadn't or not invite and have them find out about it later. I've tried both approaches but this is the first year that I didn't have to consider feelings and/or listen to people nag about how they weren't invited. Yippeeee!

We did a care bear theme and I made a cloud cake. It almost looked like one of those floppy cakes on comedies that kids make and they look like shit but I intended it to be that way... sorta. It wasn't as cute as I would have liked because I didn't get enough cool whip and had to fill in the gaps with coconut but it worked so I put bears on it and that was that. It tasted awesome though. It was white cake with cream cheese frosting between the layers (it was all I had that was a light color) and it had cool whip for frosting with coconut on it (like I just said).

I put up some streamers around the door frame in the dining room and over top of the other door frame in the dining room, and I put up one of those silver happy birthday banners on one wall and one of those happy birthday banners that's individual letters pieced together in different colors. My description probably gets you nowhere but everybody has them at one point in their lives.

I got 3 balloon bouquets. I was going to go in and do them myself but they were done when I got there. I asked for 2 table height and a floor height but I got 3 floor height instead so I had to redo the ribbon on the one for the dining room table.

Each kid got a box of 24 crayons, a bag of m&m's, a care bear coloring paper that I printed off the internet, and eventually a balloon from the bouquets.

I had care bears table covers, hats, plates, napkins, and cups and I got blue plastic cups for the grown ups. I made hot dogs, hamburgers (nobody said I had to eat hamburger if I cooked it, right?), potato salad, and got some chips and dip. I also made fruit punch out of strawberry soda and gingerale. It was a bit too fizzy but I couldn't find the juice at the store so I had no choice.

Some of the stuff didn't turn out perfect but I didn't set my expectations too high and it was all fine.

Kimberley got 4 outfits, a roaring leopard, a set of powerpuff girl dishes (3 plates and 3 bowls) and a Hokey Pokey Elmo that doesn't turn around even though I took the tab out and took his foot apart to see why.

Anyway, she lad a happy birthday and she's satified so I am too!!

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host