the golden rule, revised
8:46 p.m. x 2003-12-30

Ooh I see my paper journal now. I can write in there. I always misplace it. That's the nice thing about an online journal/diary. I can't exactly lose the computer because it used to be on one shelf and now it's on another.

Well, maybe I could.

Anyway, I was having a nice conversation with someone today (I'm withholding her name because I don't have her consent to put it in while I talk about something we talk about) and we were talking about how it's never a good idea to tell any one person everything. If you give bits of info to everyone, but not all of it, and something gets back to you, you know who spilled the beans.

I've carried that philosophy with me for years, thanks to someone I went to school with in 7th grade. She was pretty wise for her age when it came to that knowledge. After that, we went through some middle school drama and we stopped talking (I don't even really remember why now) but I definitely took something away from that friendship and it's a lesson I won't ever forget.

My dad's most important advice that he ever gave me goes right along with that. He once told me "Trust nobody with all that you have. Don't trust anyone when you first meet them and don't ever give them more than 90% trust. If you hold out a little and expect them to make mistakes, they'll save you a lot of disappointment."

I have no real point with all of this. It was just something I wanted to record because it's good advice.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host