Ode to Jessica
8:11 p.m. x 2003-01-17

I feel as if there's something that I want to say in defense of Jessica but I'm still trying to figure out how to word what I want to say.

See, here in Rockford, people of all ages know who Cheap Trick is. If you mention the band's name to someone in another state that's younger than 30, they say "I've never heard of them". I know. I've done it several times because I'm a fan of their music.

I'm probably a fan at the age of 24 because I grew up here.

In 1986, my dad owned a bar. If you go back to my other diary and read my fatherless entry, it mentions said bar.

My dad tried to book Cheap Trick but they had standards that were too high for the dressing room and my dad was a stubborn man. He wasn't going to install these things just for one band.

Instead, he booked Bun E. Carlos and his band that he had on the side. For some reason, Cheap Trick ended up there. I was only 7 so I don't recall the exact reasons. Anyhow, the next day, there were roaches in the ashtray. I don't mean bugs.

My school friends that ended up going to Boylan knew a certain band member's kid(s) and I heard that the band was in town. The kid was expecting his dad to show up at the school play that he was in, but he never did.

I guess that just means that with all that money, he's still a boring person that came from a broken home, just like anyone else so there!

Oh, and I'd like to add a tip from The Cosby Show. Theo was bragging about how he was rich to all his friends and Cliff told him "You're not rich. You didn't make the money. Your mother and I are the ones that are rich."

Nuff said?

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host