birthday parties
6:43 p.m. x 2003-09-27

Describe a special birthday party you've had, given, or attended.
I've had, given, and attended a lot of birthday parties so it's hard to choose just one. Some of them have sucked but most were nice and it's hard to compare them.

The best birthday party I ever had was when I was 13.

We were all out of the age of playing with dolls but for old time's sake, we decided to do it anyway. We pretended we were in labor, and that we were breastfeeding, and played with the dolls most of the night. I still had all of my stuff from my dolls because I had this thing where I felt guilty getting rid of them, like they were a part of the family.

Anyway, along with that, we played strip spin the bottle. We were all modest so when we got ready to play, we tied curling irons around our ears or counted hair ties as clothes, and did anything we could to make sure we had lots of stuff and wouldn't lose. When we got to the end, the naked girls were all under blankets. (Back then I wasn't into girls, or didn't think I was, so it wasn't a thing for me to see them naked but we were 13.)

This was a slumber party, as a lot of my parties were by then. We had ice cream cake and pizza, and I got tons of 90210 stuff for gifts. I don't know how else to explain it, but it was a lot of fun.

The most memorable birthday party I've ever attended was probably my mom's 50th birthday party. I went with her under the pretense that it was a family reunion. I had no idea, and neither did she, that it was a surprise party for her. It was held at my aunt's house in Wisconsin, and my aunt said something to me about getting my mom out of the house. I thought to myself "Oh my God what a bitch! Her sister comes all the way here from Illinois to see her and go to a family reunion and my aunt doesn't want her in her house?" but it wasn't long after she got her out that my mom's name started popping up on happy birthday banners and streamers were being hung, and I figured it out. We found these pictures in frames and my aunt asked me if I knew which one was my mom, because they were all baby pictures, and I pointed to the one I thought was her.

So, everyone strives to keep her outside til the cake is ready, and my mom really has to pee so she's getting angry that nobody will let her in. Finally after dinner, we gave in. Meanwhile she's wondering why people are handing her birthday cards when her birthday was 6 months before.

Snyway, we get in there and she sits down and she starts crying at all the banners and cake and all that. She looked at me through teary eyes and says "Did you know about this?" and I said no. My aunt says "No wonder you looked at me funny when I said I had to get your mom out of the house. It was on the invitation I sent." and I hadn't gotten one.

Then after my mom blows out her candles and opens her gifts, she looks at the picture and says "That's not me. That's Alice." (my aunt that had the party)

Oops!

The party itself was great but also, I spent a whole week with my mom. She took me gambling for the first time during that week, and we really bonded. We made memories that week that I won't ever forget.

As for the best party I've ever thrown, I always throw good parties. I spend a fortune at the party store, and I coordinate everything for weeks with lists and such. The invitations always match and I really go all out. Then hardly anyone shows up and I get pissed off and swear I'm not doing it again - til I do it the next time.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host