Hi, nice to meet you. I'm half lesbian and half Jewish
8:07 p.m. x 2003-12-07

I have come to a conclusion.

Starting next holiday season, or at least for the 2004 holidays, I'm going to celebrate hannakuh.

Here's the way I justify it. I don't believe in organized religion, although I will say I've had a few nice experiences with it. I don't really go out of my way to be Christian. If I hadn't been taught that salvation was eternal and hung onto it for years, I'd probably say I'm not one. While I have my beliefs, and Jesus' existence is sort of one of them, I don't go out of my way to be Christ-like. So why do I have to celebrate the commercial end of Christmas?

I'll get myself a minora and learn some stuff, including how to spell it, and my kids will all get 8 gifts and they'll learn multi-culturalism.

It comes off as looking like a cool mom to them and it's no muss, no fuss for me. Santa can even pop in with a Christmas gift on Christmas day because it's my house and I said so.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host