Hi honey, I'm home!
9:57 a.m. x February 02, 2004

Okay, here's the entry about my trip. I didn't have an easy time of it but that's alright. I'm safe at home. That's what matters, right?

The drive there wasn't too bad but the kids drove me nuts, of course. Chicago traffic was maddening... worse than usual. The good news is that the skyway isn't as narrowed down as it has been so it wsan't as scary to cross.

So I got there and I called my mom, pretending like nothing was out of the ordinary and I was just calling her from home. After about 20 minutes, I said "So, are you going to be up for a while?"

She said yeah and asked why so I said "I thought I'd drop by for a while."

She sounded like she was going to choke, laugh, and cry at the same time when I told her where I was. It was adorable. Then when I walked in, she looked at me and said "What can I say? I'm speechless." then shook her head like she was trying to wake up. I printed off my happy birthday mom entry from last year to give to her. Not only did she cry, but she took it to work Friday, and all the other women bawled too!

The bad news from that night is that Darrell has a spot on his lung that she told me about. Actually there's 2, but anyway, they both look like cancer. I'm not quite sure what to think of that til he gets more tests done so don't think I'm insensitive for passing that topic right on by.

Friday I ran errands, then paid for dinner for my mom's birthday. Brittany was whiny and her leg hurt so she went back to the motel with me, and Ronald stayed the night with my mom.

One of my problems on Friday was that I couldn't get the car tagged because of the title loan. I couldn't get to title loans in time, with everything else I had to do, so it had to wait til Saturday.

Saturday morning, my car didn't want to move. I had to drive it around the motel office a few times til it got warmed up and the tranny stopped being stubborn. Then I got it to a gas station and as a temporary fix, I got tranny fluid in it. I knew the car wasn't going to make it home if I didn't fix it, and if I paid the title loan, I couldn't afford it. Tends to leave a person between a rock and a hard place if they have to get a car with a bad radiator and dying transmission back home, which is 2 states away.

My only option, leave that car at title loans after getting a different one with what I was going to pay my bill with. So that's what I did. Anyone in the Rockford area want a 94 buick lesabre that needs a little work for $441? Because when I got home, I got a letter in the mail saying they would cut a deal with me if I reacted quickly. I reacted quickly alright! While the letter was sitting in the mailbox, I dropped off my pimp mobile for nothing. I could have afforded to get it fixed if I only had to pay $441. Isn't that like a twisted version of The Gift of the Magi?

Later on that evening, Kimberley threw up on my mom's dining room rug. Then she did it in a towel. Then she did it on a plate. I dropped off the first car officially, with Darrell driving the "new" one, and called Jessica back to see if she was free for company. After I got Kimberley settled in at my mom's, I went over there and watched Freddy Vs. Jason with Jessica, Andy, James, Trina, Brian, and Laurie. It was really cool to meet Jess. Even though I had already seen the movie, it made for a good ice breaker since I don't talk much when I first meet someone anyway. We talked for a little bit after the movie, then I left. She's really cool and it was nice to sit in a room full of people my own age. I got to get out, away from the kids, without hanging out with a relative. It rocked, even if Trina was there. She was really quiet though, which is unusual for her. I think I made her nervous. haha

I meant to get pictures but I forgot all about it til it was too late.

I left yesterday, about 4 their time, and on the way back I stopped for coffee, pee break, gas, and so on.

I was standing in line waiting to pay for my coffee, and this redneck trucker kind of guy was first. There was a younger black guy between him and I. The younger black guy belched, but he put his fist over his mouth when he did it, then said excuse me. The redneck guy said something like "You're luck that didn't come out the other end. You would have had a mess in your pants!"

So after he walks away, the black guy said something about "Dude be crazy!" and the cashier told him that it was probably that the guy thought he was being rude. The black guy said he had said excuse me, and that didn't make him rude. Then he goes "He's lucky I didn't whip it out and shitted all over his face."

I suppose you had to be there but that made the whole trip!

Oh, that, and on the way out there I won the lottery. Yup, I won a whole dollar. Brittany said "Well I've been praying that you'd win the lotto."

I guess there really is no such thing as an unanswered parayer, huh? haha!

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host