Names
8:23 a.m. x 2003-08-29

What is your full name? Who were you named for? How do you feel about your name?

I'll leave off my last name but those of you that know me online probably already know what it is. My full name as far as first and middle names is Carla Margaret.
There's already some info about my name in my 101 things entry, but I'll go ahead and repeat it and add more detail.
My mom wanted to name me Angelique. My dad was not the religious type and he thought it was too "Jeus Freakish" so she went on to find something else. She says that she just liked the name Carla because she just did, and my dad thought I was named after him and his mom. Only my mom knows for sure and she probably said that when they were at each others' throats and forgot the true story. Who knows?
Margaret is after my grandmother, my mom's mom. I suppose it also works because since my dad's middle name was Carl and you could get Carla from that, and my mom's name is Marsha so the first 3 letters are the same. Even though I don't have solid proof, I'd say that I was named after my parents and grandparents.
I don't like my name. I've grown used to my first name, and I'm honored to have my grandmother's name as my middle name but I think it's a stupid combination. They couldn't use Clara after my grandma on my dad's side because I have a cousin named that who is older than me, and they couldn't use Marie because that's her middle name, but I'd much rather have the middle name Marie.. I don't really care either way about the first name.
Anyway, I know my name could be worse but I'd pick something really common for myself, like Jessica Lynn or something. I don't even know for sure what I'd change my name to, but it would be popular, and it would be something that is easily found when you go to buy a refrigerator magnet.
Regardless, it's been my name for 24 years, and I'm not going to change it. For one thing, I'd have to learn to answer to something else. For another, my mom would be quite offended. I'm just thankful I didn't get named after my mom's mom completely. Imagine calling me Margaret Alberta.
No thanks... and I think my grandma would agree, since she hated her name.
On that note, I wouldn't name my kids after my parents. Marsha would be okay with a different last name, but not Harvey. Their middle names are alright (ann and carl) but not my style. Ronald Lloyd Jr is bad enough. Poor kid... and he feels special with a name like that, can you imagine? (Don't tell him I said that.)

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host