an update full of nothingy goodness
9:17 p.m. x November 16, 2004

I need to write a real update in this thing. I hate complaining in every entry I write though. It comes off as if I'm completely miserable and everyone's first comment is something about my hard life when they first start reading here. I don't see it like that. Sure, I have my moments, but who doesn't? I have a lot to be thankful for, despite it all, and life truly could be much worse than I've ever had it.
For those that are of other religions, what I'm about to say is NOT intended to cram anything down your throats....
Anyway, I've been going to church the past couple of Sundays. At first, I only went because I didn't want to sit here alone with no transportation for 2 hours, but once I went, I really liked it. The church is more liberal than any other baptist church I've ever been to (The pastor even swore at the pulpit, in a roundabout way, but then... he's old). I'm sure they have their beliefs that I don't agree with like all Christian churches do, but for the most part, it's nice. Just because they believe something (say homosexuality, for example, although I haven't heard it mentioned) is wrong doesn't mean I have to. I feel good going there. Maybe I can find the answers to the religious questions I've had for ages by going there... through my own heart, of course. If not, then at least it's something to do on a Sunday morning.
There's been other crap going on but I don't want to get into it. It's settled down for now around here and I'm just trying to hold out til I get my taxes, then go from there.
I go to the doctor on Thursday. Hard to believe I'll be nine weeks tomorrow! June still feels like a long way off but I know in hindsight it's going to fly by. I'm trying not to get too excited yet, because my pregnancy history has left me paranoid, but once I go to the doctor maybe I'll be able to rest easier about the baby. I'm not going to buy anything for the baby til at least after Christmas, but I think I have names picked out. I've only told a couple of people what they are, in case I change my mind and because I don't want to get too far ahaead of myself. For now, I refer to the baby as Alex, but that's not going to be his/her real name. Maybe a middle name though. I'll figure that out later. For now, it's a unisex nickname.
I went to the store today after the kids got out of school and got food for Thanksgiving. It's just going to be a traditional dinner with nothing out of the ordinary, so I'm not going to bother going into what we're having, but having a dinner at all is more than a lot of people get, so I'm already thankful for that much.
The only other thing on my mind right now is that the heating element went out in my dryer, and it's under warranty, but the guy keeps standing me up when he says he's coming to fix it. If he doesn't fix it and I have to have someone else do it, I'm taking them to small claims court. I've always wanted to do that anyway (yes, I'm strange), but never had a reason to. If I have to pay a repairman and end up spending money at the laundromat when I should have a perfectly good dryer at home, I think that's a solid reason. The warranty is in writing, it's for 90 days, and the dryer was just purchased about 3 weeks ago. (Along with a washer, a fridge, and a stove, so it's not like the owner of the place didn't make money off of us, despite it all being used and supposedly refurbished.)
My domesticated life in writing is even more boring than it is in real life, so I guess that's all for now.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host