October mommy visit
5:25 p.m. x 2003-10-15

I'm back from my mom's. I had probably the best trip yet so I'm going to try to get it all in here as best I can. It might be boring to all of you but this one is for me to remember the trip.

I did amazingly well on the skyway this time. Its still down to one lane but I didn't freak out. That's a plus.

I got in at like midnight or so and got a motel room. (I got $4 off per night because I rented it for 4 nights. woohoo!)

We all got settled in and went to sleep fairly quickly. Then Saturday, I called my mom and told her I was in town and would be over shortly, etc.

We met at Gil's Diner and ate lunch with my mom, Darrell, and Des. She had a couple days off of school and got to stay the whole time I was in town. That rocked!

Anyway, after lunch, we went to some dollar store and Kmart, and had a soda and a pretzel in the cafe thing. The older kids went and stayed the night with their aunt so that their other grandma could spend some time with them. She's going in for heart surgery or something within the next month and they don't know if she's going to make it so we might all end up taking a trip back there before long, but I hope not. Those are the kinds of trips we'd all rather not take.

Anyway, we had pizza for dinner Saturday night, then the baby and I went back to the motel.

Sunday we went back to the dollar store, then went and saw Freddy VS Jason. It was okay for a movie at the $1 theater but I wouldn't spend the money on the dvd for it. My mom dozed off. ha!

After that, we went out to dinner and sat around at my mom's for a while. Des told me she can't promise because it depends on whether she gets accepted but she's seriously considering Akron U. If she gets in, that means my cousin will be here in 2 short years. Yay!!!

Monday we went to the eye doctor and then to the pumpkin patch. Brittany and Kimberley hung around with their cousins on their dad's side and Ronald went with us. We all kind of felt bad that the other 2 didn't come along but they had fun with Aunt Chrissy and of course they got treats.

Des drove there and back. She's a really good driver for a beginner. We had to tease her though because she had to be told to step on it when we left the pumpkin patch parking lot, but then when we stopped at Road Ranger on North Main for gas, I told her I'd help her get out of the parking lot since its a busy street and she said she thought she could do it. Well, the street was clear but when she stepped on it, she really stepped on it, so we teased her about how my mom learned to head bang and I got the kink worked out of my neck because she almost got whiplash. Not to mention, since my mom's eyes were dialated, I had to be the one in the passenger seat and I'm proud of myself for how calm and collected I was. I've never been the one with the license before in a situation like that, and always expected to be jittery and screaming.

My mom made dinner at home and the lack of sleep was getting to Des and I so we were making fun of Darrell in subtle ways. He's got this thing that drives my mom nuts where he'll be talking and he ends most of his sentences with "ya know?" or "huh?" so we started doing it when he wasn't listening. I guess you had to be there but it was hilarious, huh? (hehe)

Tuesday came too soon. We went to the grocery store and went out to eat for lunch, then my mom made supper at her house and we left. I bawled my eyes out as usual and had tired eyes for quite a while because of it but I made it home safely at about 3 am.

It was really great to be with my family this time around. I felt like we really bonded a lot and people were treating Des and I like sisters. We said some bagger at Hilander smelled like poop but we used hillbilly accents to say poop, but then it turned out that my daughter smelled like poop so Des goes "Well he still looked like poop!"

It was just too fun! We convinced Ronald that he's a cooter pooter (hillbilly accent again) and that Darrell was really an undercover cop that has been watching him for the last 4 years and instead of calling him Grandpa, he should start calling him Officer Darrell. He said we were lying but went and his under the couch when Darrell got home from work.

Kimberley picked up a lot of new words too. She's been saying help me for a while now but her other grandma went to give her a hug and she stuck her arms out toward her cousin and screamed "Help meeee!"

She's also started saying picture, Destinee (Des-ee-ee), reindeer, Santa, Dammit (bad mommy), shit (bad mommy again), punk, crackhead (I called the drivers in chicago a bunch of crackheads and I heard a little voice in the back going cackhead), and a bunch of other words that I can't even begin to list.

Brittany learned how to play jinx and she's been driving me nuts with it but she's also doing a lot better with her writing and she loves math. She even did math problems on her vacation.

So, that wraps up my whole vacation update. As long as there aren't any emergencies, I plan to go back a couple weeks before Christmas.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host