The shit I remember
8:21 p.m. x 2003-06-04

2 years ago today was the first day of my new job, cleaning at Landstar Inway. (I have a fucked up memory. I remember the dumbest shit.) I made it exactly 90 days, then quit because I was too pregnant to do it anymore. Not to mention, they moved the supervisor somewhere else and I was left with lazy asses. There was no way I could clean a 2 story office building by myself, and if it wasn't clean, we all got in trouble.

That boss was kinda strange though. She swore up and down that I was naming the baby after her because her name is Robin, and that's Kimberley's middle name. That wasn't it at all, and I didn't say anything because she was my boss, but I was offended because I told her over and over that her middle name was my sister's name, and my sister was stillborn 3 years before I was born.

The job was fun though, at times. Granted, I did little more than clean toilets, but it was fairly easy, other than the bending and reaching. They babied me, even though the big boss said not to. She wouldn't let me lift the mop bucket, even though it wasn't heavy. She split up the job when I got farther along and had this other girl clean downstairs bathrooms.

I ended up having to help dust in return for it, but it was no big thing. She made sure I ate when I was supposed to and this said a lot since she was always broke and didn't eat for days on end. I hung out at her house, I consoled her when she cried over her job, I listened to her talk about her teenage son when he gave her problems, and Ronald's imaginary friend is named after her son, Allen.

All in all, it wasn't a bad experience til the end when they split up our team and left me there alone with bums.

If it weren't for that, I would have went back after I had the baby.. but then again, $6 an hour for 2 hours a day isn't enough to leave your newborn baby.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host