the kid and the soda machine
10:24 p.m. x 2003-06-29

I went upstairs and bought myself a soda from the machine. There was a little boy, about 5, sitting there with his mom and waiting for the laundry to finish. He was just adorable and he was telling his mom that some older boys were pushing him in the dirt, causing his pants to get ruined. My heart melted, I asked the mom if he was allowed to have soda, and she nodded, but looked at me funny, like "Why do you want to know?" and I got my pop. Then I popped in another dollar and hit the button for hawaiian punch. I handed it to him, and said "Here ya go. You be a good boy for your mommy, okay?" and his eyes lit up. They got to be the size of saucers, even. He yelled out THANK YOU!! and he was chattering to his mom about it as I walked out. I could hear him talking til the door closed behind me.

Now, normally a good deed like this wouldn't go here. I don't do things like that to brag. However, this little boy was so damned cute that I had to write it here, for myself. I see my kids' innocence all the time, so I appreciate it but become immune to it in a way. The look in his eyes is something I don't ever want to forget.

If all kids were that sweet, and stayed that way, I'd go broke from the soda machines.

I wish I had a camera to take pictures of mental images, because the look on his face was just one of the cutest things I've ever seen.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host