Yes, I made it out of the dentist's chair
6:00 a.m. x February 12, 2004

I'm here and I'm alive. The oral surgery went okay. I think I fell asleep mid-sentence, and I know I woke up in spurts. I think I surfed the internet and talked to Tangy in my sleep but I can't swear to it. I think I may have been dreaming.

I really don't like this temporary partial. I mean, it looks okay... much better than my real teeth did, but it isn't made very well. it doesn't mold to the roof of my mouth and when the swelling is down (once in a while that happens) the dumb thing flaps all over my mouth. I can't use denture glue crap either (although I shouldn't HAVE to, to hold 3 plastic teeth in) because the spot I need it in is covered in stitches.

My real dentist sanded down the teeth a bit because they were pushing on my real teeth beside them and it hurt like hell, but maybe he sanded them too much. It doesn't matter though because I'll just have to get used to it. It doesn't really line up well either. My real teeth were always kinda.. overbit but they had this curve to them so my bottom teeth rested on them. Now my bottom teeth rest on the roof of my mouth. I don't think anyone can tell and I'm a lot more confident about my looks but it's taking some getting used to. I get to go back in a couple more weeks to my regular dentist and finish up on the cavities. Oh joy! More novacaine!

Anyway, I've got this nasty mouthwash that I have to use twice a day after I brush my teeth, I'm not supposed to use real toothpaste on my partial but I do anyway, and I have to rinse with saltwater somewhere in there. On top of that, I've got some steroid thing to help with inflammation and vicodin, plus the oral surgeon told me to take 3 advil with the vicodin. I've been alternating it instead because it makes no sense to be dopey for 2 hours then in pain for 2 more while I wait on the next dose. I hate taking vicodin anyway because it's so addictive but you know my ass is going out later to get my refill. (Why do ya think I'm here at 6 am?) The good news is that once I get something bitten off, I can eat! I may not be the best at it yet but I'm getting there and there's no wisdom teeth with holes in the sides to gather all the sugar and give me constant migraines. Now that I can eat, it's all I do though. Eat, sleep, and get doped up, then repeat. My favorite thing was eating a reese's peanut butter cup because I didn't scream or make faces as it entered into the cavities in my back teeth.

And I have to give Tangy a special thank you because if it weren't for Aquafresh Extreme Clean, I would probably be missing more teeth than I already am. Not to mention, it gets all foamy and gooey in the spots where I'm still afraid to go with my toothbrush. Yay! I love that toothpaste.

Okay, my last vicodin is kicking in. Time to go before I really make an ass of myself.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host