Wow
2:01 p.m. x 2003-05-22

My kids' cousin Desiree is 5 today. I just noticed the date. I remember when she was a baby and her dad was supposed to be watching her. It was early June and he had her in heavy pajamas, wrapped in a comforter, laying on a couch on the front porch at the next door neighbors' while he drank beer. He brought her back or someone went and got her or something.. I think someone went and got her, so I stripped that blanket off and put her in a onesie. She loved me for it. Gee, I wonder why she was fussy! duh!! She was never fussy when I was around.

There were 3 babies born to that side of the family that year. First her, and obviously today is her birthday, then Makayla who will be 5 on the 14th of June, and Ronald who will be 5 on September 8th. I can't hardly believe it! He should still be that little baby that peed on my leg every time I changed his diaper for like 2 weeks straight. When he was a baby, he laughed exactly like the teletubby baby. Seriously, it was hard to tell them apart when it was on and I was in another room. I remember him eating bananas around the time he was a year old. He'd take one half and stuff it in, then take the other half and stuff that in, til he had a whole banana buldging from his mouth. I don't know how he fit it without gagging but he did. I remember him having a cold when he was a tiny baby, laying in his bassinet. He was so congested but he didn't complain about it. He was such a happy little baby. Everyone said so. He only cried when he absolutely had to. If he was tired, he was like a parrot. You'd put an afghan over his head and he'd go to sleep. (I used those because they had holes in them)

He was a little chunk too. All of my kids were but he was the biggest. When Brit was 3 and he was 1, their weight was only like 3 pounds apart.

I remember taking him to the photo place at target with Brittany when he was about 5 months old. She tried to give him a kiss and he turned his head, and they got the shot just perfect. I still have it too.

My dad died when he was almost 6 months old and its so sad that he missed so much of what could end up being his only grandson's life. Even if Jonathan does have boys, not only will he miss all of that, but this was his first grandson. He missed a lot of Brittany's life and didn't know about Kimberley either, and all of them would have thrilled him. Brittany was the lucky one. She sort of remembers her grandpa. There's no way the other 2 could. I have a video of the two of them sleeping in the recliner (My dad and Brit) from when he used to babysit her when she was a baby and I can't really watch it, although I know she'll appreciate it someday. Not only did my dad miss out on Kimberley as well, but my brother is alive and doesn't know she exists.

I'm thankful to Darrell for being there for my kids. He's been their main male role model a lot, and at one time he had to have a talk with Ronald about how he wasn't his dad so he shouldn't call him that.

Still, I wish my kids could know their real grandfather.

All of my kiddos make me happy but for some reason I have Ronald on my mind and how he's going to be 5 already.

There are a few reasons why I do believe in God, even though a lot of the christian religion makes no sense to me. One of them is that when I was pregnant with Ronald, I started gushing blood. I had to wait like 2 days to get to the doc because it happened on a weekend. In the meantime, I prayed that I get some sign that he was ok, other than the ER's poor attempt at whatever they tried to do. Anyway, over that weekend, right after I prayed, I felt some sort of movement. It wasn't much and in reality it was probably gas but I don't care. It was enough to convince me at the time that he was okay.

He's come a long way too. Sure, he gets on my nerves, but to hear people talking about their kids like they're burdens (not on diaryland, but in general) really makes me sad. Yes, kids can be a hassle, but so can adults. Nobody agrees all the time. There are other options if you don't want a baby.. don't have sex, adoption, (and although I don't personally believe in it) abortion, don't have sex

I mean, really, kids are people too. I know we all say it, but think about it. If you treat your kids poorly or let it be known that you regret them, they'll carry it with them for the rest of their lives. In a sense, you're ruining a life. You're killing their spirit and giving them baggage that they don't deserve.

As I type this Kimberley just came out here in what I'd call Brittany's Selena outfit. Its magenta and light pink, and the pants have a ruffle, and the tank top is really really ruffly, although none of it is lace. Too damn cute!

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host