update on my brother
9:30 p.m. x February 20, 2006

So, I called my stepmom and brother this morning while I was at work. I still don't know a whole lot because nobody does, but they're going to give him his hormone shots that they needed to give him before and couldn't because of some kidney issues. They're thinking that if he gets back on track of where a 16 year old should be, then maybe it'll help him fight this off. Not only that, but it'll help put some weight on him and everyone knows that it doesn't hurt to have some meat on your bones, especially in a case like that.
I still haven't gotten to tell Michelle but she left me a message saying she's usually online between 12 and 1. I'd rather be in bed by then but if I have to wait, I will. She needs to know too. She's as much of his sister as I am.
Other than this, he's doing good. He's doing well in school and he's almost an eagle scout if I understand it right. I don't know what makes one an eagle scout but she said something about it. I dunno. Anyway, if it needs to be done, there's plenty of people willing to donate bone marrow and they have a tutor lined up in case he has to miss school. The teachers and students call all day long any time he misses school.
I got to talk to him too. I talk to him on the same level as I talk to Ronald because that's sort of where his mentality is. He's advancing in that sense. Just slowly. They think the hormones might help that a little bit too. Anyway, he was so excited to be off school for the holiday that he told me 3 times in 15 minutes, and he giggled and said no when I asked if he has a girlfriend. He's in good spirits, at least. I choked it all back til I got off the phone. Then I went out in the cold and let it all out at the picnic table on the smoke patio. A co-worker asked why I was at work and I said I couldn't do anything at home anyway. She was concerned about how I'd be able to work but I had an hour and a half gap between shifts so I was fine by the time it was time to return to work.
I've had a lot of supportive messages from people here and elsewhere and they've all been received and appreciated.
My supervisor is prepared to let me leave at the drop of a hat if I have to, but I don't think that will be anytime soon. As long as all goes well with Jonathan, I may go visit this summer or something, just because I haven't seen my brother in 7 years. I did give him fair warning, just in case. It helps to have an understanding boss.
I'm so tired. This has to be done and if I don't sit right here, I'll fall asleep but I'm so bored. I still have at least 2 hours to wait. At least I don't have to work til 12 tomorrow. I can get a nap in with Kimberley after I get the other kids off to school. Mmmm. Nap.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host