It's late and I rambled. Give me a break, okay?
11:13 p.m. x 2003-04-29

So I went to the hardware store and I got the hooks, nails, and rope I needed for the clothesline and pole. I also got a watering can. Much easier than using a cup or the coffee pot, I tell ya.

Then I ran home and got a basket of clothes that had my bedding on top, went to the laundromat, then walked to family dollar while the clothes were washing. I got tampons, pens, scrubber sponges, a grill and charcoal.

I went back to the laundromat to get my clothes and I remembered the most important part of hanging up clothes outside, which was not on the above list of things I bought - clothes pins. So I went to the grocery store and bought a bag of those.

I came home, watered my flowers, fixed my clothesline pole, and hung my clothes up. I straightened up the living room, washed the dishes, chatted with Kim, and with Ronda, and made dinner. I made my bed somewhere in there.

Then Joe came over for about an hour. He took his little niece out for dinner so his time was limited but I did get to see him. That was cool.

The kids played outside off and on til 8, then they came in and played, had a snack, and went to bed.

I think I got everything that I did.

I like fixing stuff. I don't think I'd want to do it for a living, but I feel all special when I get to swing a hammer or turn a screwdriver, and it actually accomplishes something. I guess its the same reason I bother with planting flowers. I like to look at them when they're big and pretty and think "Wow, I grew that!"

Tomorrow I have to go to the bank to get $10 because I'm broke and I forgot to put money aside for Thursday when the guy comes to mow the lawn. I'd do it myself, but I'd have to eat the grass or trim it with scissors or something because I don't have a lawnmower anymore. I ran over an empty charcoal bag with mine a couple years ago and it started smoking. I may just buy one in a couple weeks. I like mowing the lawn too, and especially when I wear gloves.

I think a lot of this stuff is because of how I was raised. My dad grew up on a farm. Growing things was his life. The majority of my pictures as a kid were taken by a flowerbed or with a vegetable or two in my hands.

Also, it was a real treat to get to ride the riding lawn mower. I'd even take turns with my friends, riding around the yard.

Since he didn't have a son til I was 11, and he was too young for quite a while after that, I was the "boy". He didn't have anyone else to garden with and teach how to fix stuff, so I was the one that got recruited. I'm not complaining. I knew what a stud finder was and that studs are supposed to be 16 inches apart before most of you could lift a hammer.

There were a lot of things I didn't know right away, like how to use a push mower or how to pump gas, but I learned and I like that sort of shit. My biggest thrill is going into a hardware store. I'd sooner go to Menard's than Wal-Mart (and we all know how much I love Wal-Mart).

When I was pregnant with Kimberley, I painted houses with her dad, as long as I didn't have to get up on the ladder.

And after all that, do you believe me when I tell you I'm not a tomboy? Nope, I played with dolls til I was in my early teens, and always dressed like a girl, plus, I can't climb a tree to save my life with a wild bear running behind me. I hate sports, and that goes for playing and watching them, and I was into boys at a very early age. Hell, boys were the only reason I took enough interest in football to figure out what a touchdown is. haha

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host