the laundrymat follies
6:49 p.m. x 2002-12-10

As for what I felt bad about, I took it wrong and felt guilty for nothing. It was just a matter of bad timing, because she went offline right after I said what I did (that I thought offended her).

I went and did my laundry today and mailed off a package. The post office was so full that I had to wait in line for a parking place, but it cleared up shortly after. I think everyone was just stopping by on lunch, because it was about 12:50.

Anyway, I got my laundry done, and this girl came up to me while I was folding clothes, and asked me if I'd need any help. I know how rare it is for a perfect stranger to offer to do back-breaking labor for nothing. That thought did enter my mind. Anyway, we get out to the car, and she says "Oh, by the way. Do you have a dollar so I can get home on the bus?" I didn't, because my laundry broke me, but sheesh! Come right out and ask. Don't play nicey-nice to try to get something from someone. I don't mind helping people out, but that was so pathetic it almost made me laugh in front of her.. not to mention, she had already found a way to get her laundry done for free, and she tried to con the attendant out of $2 for one dryer. It takes NO MORE than 75 cents. I think your clothes would light on fire if you dried em that long at that laundrymat.. she just wanted extra money. Oh well. My beef is just that there's nothing wrong with asking for help, but be honest about it. Don't act like you're a good samaritan and expect to get paid for it after. I carried my clothes down to my car from the second story. I can handle carrying them 10 feet to my car.

I talked to my mom tonight and she got weepy on me. I can't say why yet, but after I tell a couple of people, I'll let you all in on it. Anyway, I don't blame her for being weepy and I feel really bad for her, but I'm a big girl and I have to do what's best for me and for my kids. I love my mom to death but I can't stay on her apron strings forever.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host