shopping and birthdays and piercings
2:19 p.m. x 2003-08-16

Well since I got the tax check thingy, I figured I might as well have fun with it so yesterday, I went shopping.

I know that money comes because I have kids so I didn't blow it all on myself. I got them some clothes and school supplies and that sort of thing, I got groceries, got their ears pierced, then bought some clothes for me including bras, underwear, and socks. I got perfume and lotion from Victoria's secret, and since they did so well with getting their ears pierced, they got to go out to eat at Joe's Crab Shack, where they got the meal and dessert of their choice, and we all got a shirt. Mine says "don't be a pecker. Eat at Joe's." and has a chicken on it, and I got "got Crabs?" boxers. I got the boxers for half price because if you look really close, under "Got Crabs?" it says "Joe's Crab Shach" but it's so small that nobody's gonna know the difference anyway so I don't care.

Anyway, about the ears, there are certain things that, as a mother, have to wait until I'm ready. Some people get this done when the child is a baby, and I don't have a problem with it on someone else but I wanted to wait til they were past that stage. Some people, like my parents, have a set age for getting it done because they want it to be the choice of the kid whether they want holes in their ears or not. Well, the latter was my plan, but when it came down to it I was ready for them to do it so they got to. Brittany has wanted them done forever and I was kinda iffy on it but I was willing - for several reasons it just never got done. She wanted hers done and I said okay because I had to get a new hood ring and it came up. Anyway, Ronald originally wanted to get his toe done, then his ears, but I said no to both.. that's a lot to put on a small child if there isn't some religious reason behind it or something.. but I said okay to the left ear and then decided since I was getting theirs done, may as well go for the third one and Kimmie got to get hers done.

Brittany picked out gold hearts, Ronald wanted a stone so we went with sapphire since he's a september baby, and I picked Topaz or whatever it is for Kimberley because she's a November baby.

Well Brittany wanted to go first and there was only one girl working so we had to do it one ear at a time. She chickened out after the first ear so that's when the dessert of choice came into the picture.

Anyway, Ronald went after she had one eaar done and he said "Ouch!!! Cool!" and that was that for him.

Kimberley had to be held and restrained and all that jazz but she got hers done fairly quickly, then back to the second ear from Brittany and we were out of there and off to Victoria's secret.

I think we had a really good day. I got the paint for my bathroom, living room, and dining room from Home Depot too, and I can get that taken off the rent. I'm going to do the job first so he doesn't call his worthless maintenance crew over to do it.. I may be a chick without much experience in that field, but I know I can do better than they do. I mean, fuck, the trim in the upstairs hall is 3 different shades of brown. That isn't hard to beat.

Anyway, I had a lot of fun. I think the kids did, minus the pain from the ear piercing but that passes quickly. I know they were sure worn out. They went straight to bed when we got home, therefore I did too, and I didn't even hear my alarm go off this morning. (I didn't have to be anywhere but I set the alarm just in case I don't wake up with them. It usually works but this time it didn't.) I'm sure it went off and I shut it off in my sleep but anyway, I feel a lot better getting some much needed sleep.

I'm more or less "On call" today so I have to call at 3 to see if I have to go in to work. I hope I don't because I wanted to be here but be my luck, I'll have to come in. I can use the money from a weekend dinner shift, but it's someone's birthday today and I wanted to wish her a happy birthday "in person" but I just have this feeling that I'm going to have to make it up to her later.

then x now

x new
x old
x profile
x rings
x about
x disclaimer
x contact
x diva
x host